What did you expect?

This song is the soundtrack for this post:
Push PLAY. Read.

Play

I did a lot of stuff this week. It probably wasn’t necessarily more or less than I normally do. But it was still a lot.
BUT today is the day of the week when that changes! Its Friday. Lots of people mark the end of their work week today. It’s the start of the weekend!

Not for me. From Friday morning through Monday midday is the busiest portion of my week. And I love it. Not because I enjoy the busyness either.
I setup all the video/slideshow type stuff for my church. Most of that info comes to me on Thursday or Friday. So Friday is the day to get that stuff squared away. And then I go to work… til like 1-2 o’clock in the morning.

So Saturday comes around (I think. Did we have a Saturday last time? I can’t remember). I wake up, check my email, etc to make sure there are no changes to the stuff I did Friday. Once I accommodate those, its time for work again… til like 1-2 o’clock in the morning.

And here – right in the middle of my crazy weekend – is my favorite spot in the whole week. I pack up my computer and pick out clothes for Sunday. I grab my trusty iPhone and hit the showers! Yep. Me and the iPhone in the shower. Pandora Radio gets turned up, and I take a LONG shower. And I totally stop. Dead. Stop.
The hot water washes rational, critical thinking out of my head. The music fills the void. And I live for those minutes, on pure audio sensory. The drum becomes my heartbeat, the guitar becomes my gut, the bass becomes the momentum that makes me function, and the vocals become my conscious thought.

By the time I run out of hot water, any inkling of Monday through Friday has disintegrated. I’m excited that its now 3 am (if I’m lucky) and my alarm is going to go off in about 3 hours. My phone is still playing. It gets plugged into my stereo system, and my bedroom fills with melody. I lay in bed listening, singing, praying, and amazed at a Creator.

My Sundays are always awesome.

What did you expect?
If you have low expectations, you’ll only be looking at lowly things. Expecting gloriousness, looks for glory.

  1. This is an awesome blog! I feel much the same way, only after a whole lot more rest. Live for the weekend, because that’s when we worship Jesus.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

